Provide exceptional water services for our customers in The Woodlands.


Manage our water with fiscal integrity, efficient business practices, responsive operations, infrastructure maintenance, community partnerships and environmental stewardship.

Board of trustees

Please refer the customer to the Calendar for meeting dates and times

The meeting days are subject to change due to budgeting schedules or holidays. Check with our office to confirm a specific meeting date.

Bob Lux President 60
Ron Wilson Vice President Metro
Kyle Mays Secretary 7
Paul Martin Assistant Secretary 67
Hartley Mackintosh Trustee 1
Neil Gaynor Trustee 6
Jan Price Trustee 36
Ted Stanley Trustee 39
David Smith Trustee 46
Hugh Connett Trustee 47

About Woodlands Water

Woodlands Water is the central management agency for the ten Municipal Utility Districts (MUDs) that currently serve The Woodlands in Montgomery County. The services we provide are water distribution, wastewater collection, storm drainage and tax collection services.

The principal objective of Woodlands Water is to provide the MUDs we serve with professional, reliable and quality services consistent with fiscal responsibility. We are also committed to improving our efficiency and effectiveness at maintaining the utility infrastructure and enhancing communication with our customers.


MUD History

Municipal Utility Districts, or MUDs, are political subdivisions of the state, most often formed by the legislature to operate, maintain and repair the water, wastewater and drainage infrastructure of a geographically defined area of land. Frequently in Texas, MUDs are used to finance utility development of residential and commercial areas outside of city limits in unincorporated areas. There are over 1500 MUDs in Texas.


1904 – Section 52, Article III of the Texas Constitution was adopted authorizing the legislature to create special districts to issue bonds “for the improvement of rivers, creeks, streams, to prevent overflows, provide for navigation and irrigation.”

1917 – Section 59, Article XVI of the Texas Constitution – A conservation amendment was adopted which allowed conservation and reclamation, or water districts, to operate with unlimited bonded indebtedness; it declared that conservation and development of the state’s natural resources was a public right and duty; it created a unique situation whereby water districts had unlimited tax and debt limits, however, all other units of general government had established tax and debt limits.

1925-1971 – The legislature authorized the creation of a group of regulatory agencies and the creation of a variety of types of water districts. A triad, consisting of the Texas Water Rights Commission (TWRC), Texas Water Quality Board (TWQB), and The Texas Water Development Board (TWDB), slowly evolved into The Texas Water Commission. The general laws now provide for 13 different types of water districts.

1971 – The legislature passed the Municipal Utility District Act that added Chapter 54 to the Texas water Code. The Act was modernized and streamlined piece of legislation governing a specific type of district – municipal utility district – which, under supervision of the Texas Water Commission, is designed to be used in conjunction with urban lands.

1993 – A group of regulatory agencies, consisting of the Texas Water Commission, The Texas Air Control Board and The Texas Health Department, were combined and reorganized to form The Texas Natural Resources Conservation Commission, or TNRCC, with supervisory jurisdiction over all types of utility districts, including municipal utility districts.

1995 – Chapter 49 was added to the Texas Water Code to provide a common set of laws and procedures governing all types of special water districts. Most, but not all, of Chapter 54 of the Texas Water Code was repealed, but selected portions of Chapter 54 relating specifically to municipal utility districts are still in effect. The result is that both Chapters 49 and 54 of the Texas water Code govern municipal utility districts.

Present – The Texas Water Code has been amended almost every year the legislature has been in session. The TNRCC changed its name to Texas Commission of Environmental Quality, or TCEQ.

The Woodlands Water Agency

The Woodlands Water Agency

2455 Lake Robbins Dr
The Woodlands TX 77380


For billing, customer service, new service and service disconnections:

For all other inquires:

Hours of Operation:
8:00am to 5:00pm Mon-Fri

For Emergency call

Receive important updates


3 IMPORTANT NOTICES (Updated 7/14/2022, 8:16 am) - View

For billing, customer service, new service & service disconnections:
Billing Department Email

For all other inquires:
Woodlands Water Email

8:00am to 5:00pm Mon-Fri

For Emergency call
855-H2o-SAVE (855-426-7283)